en de

Overview of the committees

Here we have put together a list of the committees which our student council is represented in.

In the following I will list the individual committees, whereby the number of student representatives + the number of deputies (sometimes they have only speech, but no voting right) is listed in brackets after the name. In the case of interdisciplinary committees, the corresponding figures for representatives of our student council are given in square brackets, the figures in the round brackets then refer to the total number of student representatives.

Examination Board (Prüfungsausschuss, PA) Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science (2+2 each)

These committees deal with the preparation, interpretation and possible amendment of the Bachelor's, Master's and Diploma Examination Regulations of the respective degree programmes. This also includes decisions on the recognition of academic achievements and appeals against examinations and examination results.

Commissions of the Departments (Fachkommission, FK) Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science (2+2 each)

The commissions of the departments for mathematics and physics have equal representation and usually only discuss internal topics. Here, proposals or statements are submitted to other committees (e.g. PA or FBR). Even if this committee does not decide anything itself, the important preliminary work is done here. The proposals developed here are usually only coordinated on their further way and rarely discussed. All computer science professors sit on the subject committee computer science (FAI), which is similar to a commission of the departments. Even if this committee has the same competences as in mathematics or physics, the participation of all professors makes it even more likely that the proposals developed here will be accepted. That is why this commission actually has something to say. Thematically, the Computer Science committee of the department corresponds to the Mathematics and Physics Commissions of the departments.

Budget and Structural Commission (Haushalts- und Strukturkommission, HSK) (2+2)[1+1]

This is where the department's budget is decided (which must then still be approved by the department council) and where decisions are taken on redistribution and new applications for posts.

Statutory Commission (Satzungskommission) (2+2)[1+1]

If it were necessary, this committee would draft a new statute for the department or draw up the necessary supplementary regulations.

Graduate Assistance Commission (Graduiertenförderungskommission) (2+2)[1+1]

Here, doctoral students are proposed for scholarships. The proposals will then be finally decided by the university-wide Graduate Funding Commission.

Intermediate Examination Committee (Zwischenprüfungsausschuss, ZPA) (2+2)[1+1]

NO, that's not the Central Examination Office, but the Diploma Examination Committee for the Teaching Offices. That's why our education students sit on it.

Appointment Committees (Berufungskommission, BK)

They are called up when a professor leaves the university and the position is to be filled. There is a separate commission for each position. The appointment commissions work out a text for the call for applications, sift through the applications, select a few people, who are then invited to lectures, listen to the lectures, talk to the applicants and finally submit a list of usually three proposals. There are usually either two or three student representatives.

Quality Improvement Commission (Qualitätsverbesserungskommission, QVK) (7+5) [3+3]

There is no major change at a university without at least one new commission being appointed. This is where the distribution of quality improvement funds in the faculty is discussed and decided upon. As is the case with most committees, the preparatory work here is carried out in the specialist commissions, the quality improvement commissions for the subjects, in the corridor, but for our subjects, however, always in conversation between professors and students. In most cases, the Commission does not discuss the content of the applications, but whether they comply with the guidelines. If, however, the XY group has managed to apply for a new Porsche for the group spokesperson, this can be prevented here. After all, we have the majority.

Commission for Teaching (Kommission für Lehre, KfL) (2+2)

A special construct within the department of computer science. This commission is exclusively responsible for matters that are directly related to the teaching of computer science students. It deals with changes in the curriculum, changes in examination regulations or acute problems such as the number of dropouts.

Commission for Service Education (Kommission für Servicelehre, KfSl) (2+2)

The KfSl also exists only in computer science. It fulfils about the same purpose as its sister commission, the KfL, but only deals with matters concerning service education. This means lectures, internships and the like, which are held for courses of study outside computer science – for example within the framework of a minor subject.